Challenge Accepted

Where did the weekend go? Is it already Sunday night? Am I already watching The Walking Dead and Gypsy Sisters? For this post I had two important topics I wanted to cover, so I will split it up into Part 1 and 2.

Jeremy came into town and we had a very successful double date, saw Zero Dark Thirty, and got to enjoy each other’s company for the first time in four weeks. (If I haven’t mentioned before, Jeremy and I live in two separate cities, about 2 hours apart.)

When the person on the treadmill next to me is running faster

Part 1:

I know I promised you all earlier this week that I had a surprise! Well, it’s time for the unveiling!

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1lfyWGMiJ2Ln4Puwor1StDqLdR7tjj0xnUc-VL4W6wns/viewform

This is a challenge a few of my girlfriends and I are embarking on. We each tried to think of healthy things we should be doing and allocate points to each to be calculated on a weekly basis and totaled to compete against each other. The one category that is specifically pointed at me is limiting fruit to just one serving. Although fruit it terribly healthy, the way I consume it certainly exceeds that boundary.

Since moving to DC, I had lacked the group of girls that I had around me in college as workout buddies and confidants for when I was slacking off. Having my friends hold me accountable and competing against them is something that I feel will be motivating and a challenge.

If you don’t have a group to do this with, try writing down some goals that you want to hit every day (or several times a week) and track them!

Part 2:

Jeremy and I tried once before to go to the gym together. Both of us walked away feeling like we didn’t have a successful workout, irritated, and frustrated. However, this weekend we decided to try it again and take a new tactic. While I admire couples that can actually workout together, so far Jeremy and I have not been able to figure this out.

Instead, this time we each had our individual workouts that we went through, and while it was odd to not interact the entire time (we were on two different floors working out) we were both able to get in an hour long workout when normally we would completely skip workouts when we are together.

I completely encourage you if you are in a relationship to ask your significant other to go with you to the gym, to make it part of your routine together. If you aren’t, find a friend who can accompany you to the gym. It helps to have someone who holds you accountable and motivates you and who also takes that hour out of their day to go to the gym with you.

While this weekend we only went once, it was the first time we had both made an effort during our weekends together to make working out part of our routine together, and it felt so good to do.

Happy Sunday! Hopefully this week won’t be too crazy or jam packed for all of you!

What do you do to keep yourself motivated in your relationship and with friends?

One response to “Challenge Accepted”

  1. kaityscooking says :

    I use to go to the gym with some bfs and i could never workout with him but i would just go do my own thing, it worked out pretty well!

Leave a Reply

