Triathlon Training: Not For The Faint of Heart

I don’t know if I had mentioned before, but I am doing my first triathlon on April 27. I am nervous and excited and rearing to try it out. I am doing a sprint triathlon, so it’s not nearly as long as a regular one. It is 400 m pool swim, 12 mile bike, ending with a 5k run.

A recommended workout to do to train is a brick workout. Bricks refer to training on two disciplines during the same workout, one after the other with minimal or no interruption in between, just as you would do in a race. Normally this is a bike/run, which I did today. The last time the weather was nice enough for me to do both of these outside was in early January. And today, I could totally tell.

I will be feeling today in my muscles tomorrow, but I must keep this in mind.

My tracker decided that it wouldn’t record the first few miles on the bike I did, so I had no idea how far I had gone and decided on an arbitrary halfway point. It ended up being about 5.07 miles one way, so I was fairly happy. I was hoping it would be closer to 6, but I was happy to do the 10 miles average about a 5 minute/mile pace.

I quickly brought my bike into my apartment and changed my shoes to head back out for my run. My legs decided that they had had enough and stopped working. I did a sluggish 5k run where it took every ounce of my being to put one foot in front of another and keep going.

This is why I say not for the faint of heart. I think anyone in decent shape could pull off doing a triathlon, especially a sprint. However, it takes heart and pushing yourself and trusting yourself to decide, hey you can really do this. Maybe not do it at break neck speed, or your best time in each event, but you can do it. That’s what I kept telling myself. I got this, I can do this, I can keep going.

Are you training for an upcoming race? What is it?

One response to “Triathlon Training: Not For The Faint of Heart”

  1. kaityscooking says :

    That is awesome! I always wanted to do a triathlon, I got to look into it and see if any are by me! I am not training for any races for a change, but I am signed up for a summer run program and in all the county parks around me every monday night is a run, anywhere from 5k-10miler. Pretty fun to see new scenery each time

Leave a Reply

