Cravings…For Literally Everything Under the Sun

I am the worst. I am so sorry it’s taken me so long to write another post, but I have been going non-stop. However, I have managed to maintain my workouts and I am trying to find the balance between getting in the cardio I need for triathlon training and weight training, which is so very very important.

Lately, I have been trying to eat healthier and include more veggies and protein in my diet. However, eating less sugar and processed foods has led me to some INTENSE cravings. It jumps from the inside of a cannoli with chocolate chips to a burger to fries to…hmm, well pretty much anything you can possibly imagine that really isn’t the greatest for you.  Some of the things that I have tried doing to curb these cravings are:

1. Keeping healthy yummy snacks around to munch on instead

2. Reminding myself that most of the time it’s just boredom

3. Eating consistently throughout the day. Last week I changed my eating habits to be smaller, more frequent meals throughout the day that are more likely to fill me up.

These cravings are the main struggle I have in my weight loss. I keep thinking about the food then I give in. If I have one little yummy treat and have access to more then I immediately give in. So normally when I do treat my self, I buy in quantities of one otherwise I will eat all of it. It’s embarrassing and a very large barrier for me to break through for my weight loss that I struggle with every day. I love food and I am not willing to give it up, but I am learning about portion control and healthier options and how to combine all of these things into a balanced diet that suits my needs.

I am also adding chia seeds to my diet. This morning I tried them in my almond milk protein shake. I added 1.5 tablespoons of chia seeds and 1.5 tablespoons of PB2. Another yummy chia seeds recipe I tried was this yumminess:

1/4 c. rolled oats

1/4 c. plain greek yogurt

1/3 c. milk choice (I used almond milk…because I am obsessed)

1.5 teaspoons chia seeds

1 tablespoon peanut butter

1 banana

Refrigerate it overnight and eat in the morning cold. It was interesting, but I found it really yummy and really easy for me to take with me and eat, which is the most optimal for me.

chia oatmealIt does not look pretty, but it tastes delicious!

I will try not to ramble and go off onto tangents in my next post!

What do you do to curb your cravings?

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Cravings…For Literally Everything Under the Sun”

  1. kaityscooking says :

    i am honestly the worse with trying to get rid of my cravings.. i will eat everything and anything to try to keep my mind off eating say that cannoli until in the end i usually down the cannoli and then some lol def make healthier versions of actually what you want, i know there is a tofu version of a cannoli you should look up and try!

    • princessmaddysun says :

      I’m glad I’m not alone! I’ve recently tried buying things I want in small quantities because I don’t need to eat a million of them and the smaller amounts work just as well to satisfy my cravings.

Leave a Reply

