PR: 200 Pound Deadlift

Phew it’s Sunday night already. How does that happen every single week? I know I’ve been getting bad about posting again, but I am going to try to be on here every couple of days. I think shooting for every day is just going to be unrealistic, and I don’t want to short change any posts. 

I know I have advocated lifting heavier weights than you think, especially for women. You can lift more than the 5 pound dumbbells you think you’re supposed to be doing. My boyfriend prides himself on his weight loss and his muscles. And damn, does he look good and know what he’s talking about. So this weekend I asked him to do a weight lifting routine with me to make sure that I had proper form when I was deadlifting, squating, etc. 

(Sidenote: The deadlift is one of the best exercises you can do, just make sure you have proper form. We used a mixed grip so one hand has an underhand grip and the other an overhand grip. Drop your ass, chest and eyes up and shins against the bar.)

Check out this picture of the Stark women blowing bubbles:

But now, I feel like I’ve cheated you because I was certainly not lifting as heavy as I could. I felt like I was going a good job because I had worked up to a 65 pound deadlift after only being able to deadlift the bar to begin with. Well, then weight lifting boyfriend racked up 135 and said, you can totally do this. When I did (to my astonishment), he told me, you looked way too comfortable doing that. Here I was thinking well, it’s about being able to do 10 to 12 reps, which I could probably do at that weight. Instead, boyfriend suggested an alternative weight lifting program to follow: find your max, do one, then slowly drop the weight off your max and increase the amount of reps that you do as you go down. The way we did this workout was mindblowing and amazing. 

As my boyfriend slowly racked more and more weight onto the bar to find my max, I was astonished at how far I had come from January 1, and I truly appreciated the comment my trainer said to me the other day that I looked like a different person. I have a long way to go to get a fit body, but I am getting there and that’s important. Everything is smaller, and I do mean everything (except my hair). This was encouraging and motivating and so amazing to do. However, if going for your max, I do suggest you have a friend there to help/spot you. Also, another little trick whenever lifting heavy weights, squat down after you do one so that way you don’t stand up too fast. I definitely say black at the corners of my eyes from standing up a little too fast (and not breathing enough during the lift, which is something I need to work on) but this helped immediately.

So now, for the grand finale: 200 pound deadlift

And some Game of Thrones humor for you:

Or this one too:

Remember that you still have this beautiful love story:

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

