I am an average triathlete, an average runner

I started my journey to get fit and healthy almost a year ago to the day. In that time I have accomplished so much that I am proud of doing. I completed my first triathlon (then my second and third), my first half marathon, lost 20 pounds, and got in better shape. My mile time on my bike and running has decreased significantly, and though I still have progress that I want to make in all categories, I am so proud of myself for my accomplishments.

Some days, I know I can push harder and do better, but most days I lay it all out there.

However, this doesn’t make me the best at any of the things that I do.

I am an average runner, an average triathlete.

My running mile time started at around a 12 minute pace, and sometimes during my longer runs my pace still drops down to this level. My 5k PR is 29:30, making it about a 9:23 pace. I am working to get faster every day, but on here you will not see crazy feats of speed and distance. You will see an average athlete striving to do her best.

I’m not saying this to put down any athlete out there who does amazing things, who can run fast and far because I aspire to one day be able to be on that level. But for right now, I am still in the middle of my journey and I try to keep that in perspective, as should anyone reading this. Everyone’s fitness journey is different. You may be slow or fast or able to do only short distance or are in it for the long haul. You may be tall or short or thin or wide or large or small.

But the most important thing is that you are trying. You are getting off your ass every day to workout and get healthy. That is what is important. It is about the competition against yourself and not comparing yourself to others.

It is about you, your journey.

20131228-084610.jpg

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “I am an average triathlete, an average runner”

  1. fatguy2triguy says :

    I’d rather be an average athlete than no athlete at all. You are right that you are competing agaisnt yourself and no one else. I just try to beat that little guy that keeps telling me it is ok to relax and do nothing each day.

Leave a Reply

