I love the Olympics

Ah, finally Sunday, and it’s a Sunday at home in Richmond which means this morning I had a nice sit down pancake breakfast and now I am watching the Olympics. It’s nonstop entertainment and inspiration.

This week was filled with a lot of ups and downs, but I made it through. Now I am ready for this next week, well after a lazy Sunday.

Sunday: Brick workout This was a solid 14 mile bike and 5k run. OUTSIDE!!!! Last Sunday’s weather was absolutely beautiful and warm and over 50 so I took full advantage. It was a nice little taste of spring.

Monday: Rest However, I did see Hunger Games: Catching Fire. It was absolutely amazing and the company of one of my close friends was even better. We went to a local theatre, Arlington Drafthouse, which has $2 Monday nights and we ordered sandwiches and drinks to enjoy in the extra comfy seats. I highly recommend this place!

Tuesday: Hill run and long bike This hill run felt strong. Even though I wasn’t going that fast, it was faster than last time so I was pleased. When I do hill repeats I get a little caught up and think I can do just one more. So six miles later I was finally done. Later in the evening I watched The Biggest Loser finale, which I have a lot of mixed feelings about. It is an entertaining show and not the healthiest way to lose weight, but it’s a game show and the contestants are there to win.

Wednesday: Bodypump and 8 mile run First long run doing heart rate training and trying to stay in zone 2. Difficult but I hoped this training will pay off in the long run. Something I must keep in mind while running. My legs definitely felt the fact that I did Bodypump first.

Thursday: Swim 1200m and weights Weights were meh but I got through. The swim felt good, nice and steady.

Friday: 4 mile sprint workout I really didn’t want to go to the gym. Really did not. But I did anyway and in the end I am glad I did. It felt good to push my body and crank it up on the treadmill.

Saturday: REST My knee was bothering me when I woke up that morning and I decided that getting some extra sleep and resting was better than going out for a run. It definitely feels better today. Plus I came down to Richmond to an early Valentine’s Day dinner with the Beast, homemade lobster risotto. So yummy and this sight didn’t hurt either.

20140209-132000.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

