Keep It In The Family

Do you ever have one of those workouts where you feel like you could keep going on and on forever? Well that was yesterday for me. Following the terrible heart rate training session from last year, I set out to do it again. Another 8 miles at an incredibly slow speed. This time though I had my mom and our family dog to keep me company, which really made all the difference.

However, my mom’s experience was similar to mine last week and she struggled to keep her heart rate down. I think it may just be a fist time you try it out thing. This time during my run I was able to keep my heart rate in the middle of my zone 2 range instead of at the upper end. Oh and I was running faster, not much faster, but definitely faster. It felt amazing to just run and run and run.

Our family dog and mom are always good running company. And to think a year ago I would not let my mom accompany me. I was just too scared at how slow I was and didn’t want her to judge me. This time though we talked and ran, which is something I have never done. We talked about everything you could think of and had a nice life chat while running. It took my mind off my legs and just let them do their own thing. The first two miles zoomed by. And then suddenly we were at five miles. Then what?! We are home already.

Of course, puppy then decided she had plenty of energy to sprint around the yard like a crazy dog (FYI I call her puppy but she is five years old and we started with shorter runs then gradually built her up to longer distances once she was old enough to run. Her breed, Weimaraner, is also made to run, so this never strains her. We make sure she hasn’t eaten for several hours before running because dogs can have problems with this and that when we get back she drinks water and rehydrated. I’ve even made her drink out of a cup to make sure she drinks)

Then for dinner I made homemade Chipotle burritos, which were a huge hit and much cheaper to make. The key I’ve found is homemade taco seasoning and chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. This really makes quite a difference. Our spread last night was huge with sautéed peppers, onions, and mushrooms and tomatoes and black beans and corn and guacamole and cilantro lime rice and salsa.

These are all the reasons that I love being home.

This is puppy making sure Mom was okay going to the bathroom in the woods. When you gotta go you gotta go.

20140211-082556.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

