Reassessing Goals

Sometimes it’s hard to be realistic with race times and paces when you’ve been training all winter with no real idea how fast you can go.

Race season for me starts next Saturday and I have been trying to plot out my A, B, and C goals. Of course I would love to go under an hour in the 10k but I think it’s not very realistic and I don’t want to push myself too hard in the first half to maintain an unsustainable pace.

Instead I am opting to set a more realistic pace for myself because this isn’t my goal race and there is no reason to kill myself in my first race of the season that’s supposed to be fun! And well as someone from Richmond a race that I should have done a long time ago. Literally everyone in Richmond runs this race.

So here it is:
A – 10:15 pace
Realistically I should be able to hit this and maybe a little faster but I want to be conservative.
B – 10:30 pace
If I am feeling a little off this is generally the pace I have been settling into.
C – 11:00 pace
If worse comes to worse I think I could do this no matter what.

All my races this season I hope to just do better and improve. I’ve come so far from where I was last year. As a matter of fact my 3.75 mile run today at 37 minutes was faster than my 5k time last year, which started at 38 minutes or so.

It’s a process. It’s a journey. And it’s about how I feel about myself.

P.S. I went to the TriMania triathlon expo in Bethesda, MD today and will be writing up all the cool things I did there in a couple of days.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Reassessing Goals”

  1. Kristin says :

    Best of luck with your races!! You’re going to see lots of PRs and improvements, I just know it!!

Leave a Reply

