My First (Almost) Running Accident

Yesterday I went on a ten mile run. I was eager. I got home early. The day was beautiful and perfect weather for a long run. I filled up a water bottle and got a Gu. I was ready to go.

I decided to run the first five miles at a comfortable pace around 11:15-11:30. They were going along about on schedule. For some reason my legs were a little more tired than I think they should have been.

Then around mile 3 I got a weird feeling in my stomach. I decided to brush it off. Every now and then my stomach rumbles when I run so I thought it will be okay.

The next two miles went well. Then mile five hit and I turned around. And then my stomach convulsed. Oh no. How was I going to go five more miles when I was afraid I might shit myself? Two miles away were porter potties. I told myself that if I could just make it there I would be fine.

I surged on and had to stop a couple of times to let my stomach calm down. But I finally made it to the toilets. I was worried about whether or not they would have toilet paper. That was the least of my worries. In all five porter potties, not one had toilet paper and each of them was in a vile condition, almost filled to the brim. One even looked like someone shit on the seat. What the hell?

This disgusting state of toilets gave me new resolve. I would rather run three more miles and shit on myself than in those toilets.

My new attitude made the next three miles fly by (with a few stops to quiet my tummy) and soon I was almost home. My second half I was posting much better times and pushing myself harder despite my stomach. I was so pleased and I made it to 10 miles at 1:49.

A quarter of a mile from my apartment it struck. I had intended on slowly jogging the last bit but my stomach had different plans. It seized up and I came to an abrupt halt. I had to ever so slowly walk home the last bit. It took all my strength to not just let it go. I finally made it to my apartment and I have never felt more relieved.

I have no idea what I will do if I can’t hold it next time. There were so many people outside and I was wearing bright colors so that I was noticeable. Unfortunately this made it hard to duck into what little cover there was.

Have you get had bathroom issues while on a run?

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

