Friday Five: Five Fitness Goals

This is my first time linking up with some fellow DC ladies for their Five Friday post, and I am excited to finally do it! Make sure you check out CourtneyCynthia, and Mar.

So, what do I want to accomplish for the rest of this year?

1. Run a 2:15 half marathon. While I am not quite ready to do a sub 2 (which would be an ultimate goal for me), I think that this is obtainable for me to do this year. Sub 2, I am coming for you next year.

2. Embrace the hills (on the bike). What really killed me in the first sprint triathlon of this year was the hills. I had been practicing a lot indoors and my favorite course outside is pretty damn flat. I am challenging myself to tackle more hills and to go for them instead of avoiding them. Here’s to new bike courses and adventures!

3. Do strength training twice a week. When I first started my weight loss journey, I was doing a lot more strength training than cardio, and I loved the muscles I was building. Unfortunately, I have slacked off, but I want to tone my body and make it stronger and more able to endure all the miles that I put on it swimming, biking, and running.

4. Be confident in myself. I don’t want to keep holding myself back. I think that I am slow and that means that I can’t go any faster. But I can. I am able. And I need to push myself. I can do more.

5. Improve my triathlon abilities. This is a couple of things. I want to improve my sprint time because I know I can. And I am ready to tackle the Olympic distance now. I am scared and excited, but I know that I can do it. 

What are your fitness goals for this season?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Friday Five: Five Fitness Goals”

  1. Mar on the Run! says :

    Thanks for linking up!!! these are great goals!

  2. Courtney @ Eat Pray Run DC says :

    i love your goals and who knows, you may surprise yourself at nike this year 🙂 good luck at the race next weekend!

    • princessmaddysun says :

      Thanks girl! This is my second half marathon after doing the Richmond half this past fall, so I’m excited since I feel like I know what I’m doing a little more this time.

  3. blushandbarbells says :

    Good luck with your goals! I love weightlifting and I hope you’ll enjoy strength training too!

Leave a Reply

