Taking an Extra Rest Day

Yesterday I had an amazing speed workout, but my hip started hurt in towards the end. The extreme week of sitting and not standing enough and driving really irritated my hip so running fast may not have been the best workout idea.

Today I decided to take the day off and instead spend the day stretching and icing my hip to prepare for the sprint triathlon this weekend.

Physically I’m feeling much better. Mentally, I feel like taking a day off from working out was a mistake. Besides my one rest day a week taking another day off makes me feel like I’m being lazy, that I could and should be doing more. But today I am putting that side of my brain to rest.

I rented a couple of movies and I’m trying my best to relax. It seems to almost be working now.

What to do you do when you need an extra rest day?

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

