Groundforce IT Sprint Triathlon – Race Recap

I hope everyone enjoyed their Memorial Day weekend and honored those who have fallen.

I know it’s been over a week but I am finally getting to my race recap from last Sunday.

This race weekend was unlike most of my other ones: I didn’t have nerves and I wasn’t in my normal crazy prep mode. I forgot to bring peanut butter (I bought some instead), I almost didn’t lay out my clothes, and I barely thought about dinner the night beforehand.

The days leading up to the race were jam packed. The Beast and I headed up to his college for his mentee’s graduation and to see some of his college buds. We had a blast seeing our friends and hanging out and it was exhaustingly fun. Then on Saturday I volunteered at a kids’ triathlon (more to come on that later). I was tired but had so much fun and wouldn’t have traded it. Plus my hip had been hurting so I wasn’t going to go balls out at this triathlon.

Saturday night the Beast and I made a pasta concoction with vodka sauce, turkey meat, and a weird mixture of noodles–lasagna and gluten free penne pasta. It was delicious and put me right to sleep.

Sunday I woke up exactly on time and started my pre race routine: a bathroom break, shaving my legs, shoveling in breakfast and waking up the Beast 15 minutes before we leave.

We made remarkable time getting there but couldn’t find any places open for breakfast (Starbucks was open just for the triathlon but the Beast wanted an egg sandwich). We set everything up before mom and my cousin Allison showed up and then we helped them.

I was starting to get nervous and could barely breath since I felt so unprepared. We had a long wait before our swim start times and chit chatted and tried to keep warm as best we could. Then we were in the pool area and I was jumping in and waiting for the signal.

I kicked off and started steady not too fast and not too slow, keeping a pace I thought I could maintain. I quickly passed the guy in front of me and my confidence surged. My pace remained steady and I passed another person. In the last 50 I passed one other guy rather than nipping at his heels when I wanted a faster swim finish.

There was quite a bit of a jog to the bikes and the guy I passed last caught up to me right before we got into transition. Out of breath but ready for the bike I threw on my helmet and bike shoes (no socks for the first time!!!).

My goal was to be careful and steady on the bike since my hip was doing well and the bike is what irritated it last time. I kept my mom off my butt for a little while but she passed me around mile 7 or so. I also passed a girl in my age group and I felt good. The last mile my hip started to flare up and I backed off to reserve it for the race.

I barreled into transition and thank goodness for the buckets my mom made that stand out! She painted mine blue and wrote MADD on it so I could spot it from far away. I put my socks and shoes on and headed out for the run.

This flat fast course was anything but and it felt like someone strapped cement blocks to my legs. I was moving at a snails pace. We went down one hill and then up a huge hill before the turnaround. For the first mile there was a girl in my age group who was speeding along and telling everyone good job and driving me insane how easy the pace seemed to her so I vowed to keep her in my sights and keep chugging. Turns out she had already finished and was bringing in a friend. I was sad when she found her since I lost my pacer. Then the girl in my age group I passed on the bike flew past me. I was feeling down in the dumps letting an age group award slip through my fingers. But I vowed not to get upset. All I could do was my best and hope for a PR.

My super speedy cousin passed me about a mile in and I saw my mom slightly banged up. She told me she pulled a Maddison since I am renowned for many clumsy accidents.

I just tried to keep going for the run. I had forgotten my watch and didn’t have an idea of my pace. Then as we came up the final hill I heard a girl behind me huffing and puffing and and I thought “Hell no!” I am not getting passed now so I kicked it into gear and trucked up the hill. When we rounded the corner I kicked it into my final gear to cross the finish line.

I grabbed my medal and some water and found my family waiting for me there. I wanted to vomit and cry and laugh. The Beast gave me a huge hug and a salty kiss.

Turns out my mom had tripped over herself on the run and scrapped her knees and chin and bruised her hand really good. She looked hardcore and I cleaned her up while we waited for the EMS guys to get there. I was just so thankful she fell on the run and not the bike and she was okay. She was still beaming and talking about the cheeseburger she wanted. While she was getting doctored up the Beast and I headed over to see the results.

At first I couldn’t find my name and was worried there was a repeat of the last triathlon.

I found my mom and Allison’s finish first and then finally mine.

3/5.

I had placed. My first triathlon place ever. And I beat my goal getting a time under 1:30. I was so happy. I never thought it could truly happen. It seemed unreal and I felt on top of the world. The Beast was beaming having seen my name beforehand.

Icing on the cake: mom and Allison placed as well, third and second respectively. Going over to see them and telling them was the highlight of the triathlon. My mom’s face lite up and Allison squealed.

There is still a lot of hard work ahead of me to go but this felt so good. So so good.

20140526-212805-77285439.jpg

20140526-212805-77285889.jpg

20140526-212806-77286570.jpg

20140526-212806-77286222.jpg

20140526-212809-77289620.jpg

20140526-212806-77286892.jpg

20140526-212808-77288611.jpg

20140526-212809-77289279.jpg

20140526-212807-77287985.jpg

20140526-212807-77287612.jpg

20140526-212808-77288959.jpg

20140526-212808-77288297.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Groundforce IT Sprint Triathlon – Race Recap”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin says :

    so freaking amazing! way to kill it!

Leave a Reply

