What I Want

After deciding that I was going to defer my entry to the Colonial Beach Olympic triathlon, I decided to take a break and really refocus. Instead of regretting skipping my workouts and feeling guilty, I decided to workout whenever I felt like it and relax when I wanted. I ended up walking more than anything else. Some days I walked upwards of 5+ miles. It was good for my soul and good for building new friendships and still helped my legs get some workouts in. 

It was revitalizing to take the opportunity to refocus and decide what do I want? Why am I doing triathlons and running and doing more more more? Why do I want to wake up at the crack of dawn to take advantage of cool weather before the blistering sun takes over? Why do I want my Saturdays and Sundays to be consumed with a long bike and a long run and venturing out to find a place for an open water swim?

Because I want more. I want to be healthy and fit. I want to be proud of my body and what it can achieve. I want to push my body’s limits and be greeted with surprise and awe at just what it can do. I want confidence. I want to inspire others. I want to find myself and I do that every single time I take a stroke in the water, feel the wind in my face and burn in my thighs on the bike, and each stride my feet take with every laboring breath. 

My body and mind needed the break to refocus and set my sights on what I want next. The Beast and I are happily living together and we are adjusting well to the move and the new circumstances. If anything, we are eating healthier and now trying to encourage each other to work out. I have 13 weeks until the Richmond Rox Olympic Triathlon in September with a sprint distance along the way and maybe a smattering of 5ks, and I intend to make every moment count. I want to be in the best shape of my life for the Olympic distance and then I want to turn around and crush my half marathon time at the Richmond Half in November. I am ready for the second half of race season. I am ready to concur.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

