The Beast and I Go West

This past week, I ran very, very little, not on purpose, but because I decided to take a hiking vacation, which meant that my “runs” were actually walks at higher than normal elevations with much steeper inclines than I am used to.

The Beast and I took our first adult vacation out west together with a packed agenda. We left on Saturday and started in Las Vegas, where we spent one night, and decided that scene wasn’t really for us. Apparently we don’t like big cities (not such a huge shocker). Then we headed out to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. I really cannot put into words how amazing the view was. It left me speechless. I will let pictures do most of the talking for this post.

IMG_2882.JPG

On Monday, we had our first real adventure: hiking into the Grand Canyon. We decided that since it takes twice as long to come up as it does going down that we would go down for 2 hours and see how we felt after that. In the 2 hours we made it a little over three miles, and while I was trying to convince the Beast that we could keep going for thirty more minutes, I am glad he convinced me to turn back then. The ascent up may have almost killed me. I never realized what living at sea level does to you, but trying to hiking up 2000 feet in 3 miles from 7000 to 9000 feet was killer. Although I am sad that we didn’t make it to the bottom, I am glad we made it out.

IMG_2926.JPG

IMG_2958.JPG

Also, we passed a woman who was running from the South Rim to North Rim to South Rim…in one day. She may have been insane.

From there we headed out to the Sequoias in California. Needless to say, we had an entire day of driving.

IMG_2890.JPG

IMG_2902.JPG

On Wednesday, we explored the forest. We hiked up Moro Rock, walked around the huge trees (General Sherman and General Grant), and walked some more. Not as strenuous as the canyon, but still a good bit of hiking for a total of somewhere between 3-4 miles.

IMG_2981.JPG

Thursday, we had a little bit of light hiking in Yosemite, probably around 2 miles, so nothing too crazy.

IMG_3017.JPG

IMG_2991.JPG

Friday, we decided to hike to a waterfall, which was 1000 feet of elevation in a little over a mile. Then we did some more hiking, for about 7 miles of hiking total that day. The waterfall below is Bridalveil Falls…not the long march uphill to see Vernal waterfall.

IMG_3023.JPG

Saturday, I was supposed to do my long run. I had planned to wake up early in San Francisco and get on the treadmill (Beast worries about me exploring a new city by myself in the dark running, which is a valid point). However, I got on the treadmill and could barely run for the 2 miles I completed. Maybe it was the exhaustion or the sheer boredom of staring at myself for 2.5 hours ahead. I abandoned the treadmill for some more cuddle time in bed because it was a vacation and I needed that more.

After a redeye back to the east coast, I contemplated trying to do my long run. However, my body rejected that thought and all the elevation and hiking and soreness caught up to me. I was exhausted after barely sleeping through the night and week of extreme hiking for me.

Yes, the Richmond half marathon is not that far away and my longest run has only been 11 miles, but I have time to complete two more long (11-12 mile) runs before I need to taper, and sometimes you have to listen to your body and rest.

IMG_3042.JPG

IMG_3043.JPG

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Beast and I Go West”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin says :

    what an awesome vacation you guys had. I am trying to convince someone to do a week adventure type vacation so i don’t continue to not use those pto days. you will so set for richmond!

    • princessmaddysun says :

      You should definitely do something like that! I’m glad someone else has a problem finding someone to use their leave days with. Good luck on your marathon! Wish you were doing richmond!

Leave a Reply

